Major Employers in the Rochester area

The numbers below reflect full and part-time employees. (April 2017)

Please note that this list is not all inclusive and represents a snapshot of business and industry in the Rochester area.

Major Employer Number of Employees Website
Mayo Clinic 34,660 www.mayoclinic.org
Rochester Public Schools 2,727 www.rochester.k12.mn.us
IBM 2,500 (estimate) www.ibm.com
City of Rochester 1,291 www.rochestermn.gov/
Olmsted County 1,279 www.co.olmsted.mn.us
Olmsted Medical Center 1,249 www.olmmed.org
McNeilus Truck & Manuf. 1,214 www.mcneiluscompanies.com
Charter Communications 902 www.charter.net
Kahler Hotels 680 www.kahler.com
Seneca Foods (252 regular) 652 (400 are seasonal) www.senecafoods.com
Crenlo 600 www.crenlo.com
Benchmark Electronics 562 www.bench.com
RCTC 500 www.rctc.edu
Federal Medical Center 450 www.bop.gov/locations/institutions/rch/index.jsp
Reichel Foods 450 www.dippinstix.com/index.php
Samaritan Bethany, Inc. 375 www.samaritanbethany.com
Cardinal of Minnesota, Ltd. 425 www.cardinalofminnesota.com
Hiawatha Homes 420 hiawathahomes.org/
Kemps 364 www.kemps.com
McNeilus Steel, Inc. 364 www.mcneilus.com
Halcon 300 www.halconfurniture.com
Pace Dairy 280 www.kroger.com
Think Mutual Bank 270 www.thinkbank.com
Rochester Meat Company 250 bih-us.com/
Rochester Catholic Schools 250 www.rcsmn.org
Ability Building Center 220 www.abcinc.org
Wells Fargo 214 www.wellsfargo.com
Home Instead Senior Care 211 www.rochesterseniorcare.com
Home Federal Savings Bank 211 www.justcallhome.com
Rochester Post Office 195 www.usps.com
Schmidt Printing 195 www.schmidt.com
Geotek 180 www.geotekinc.com
Himec 154 www.himec.com
Lawrence Transportation Co. 150 www.lawrencetrans.com
Strongwell Corporation 150 www.strongwell.com
Zumbro Valley Mental Health 150 www.zvhc.org
Superior Mechanical Systems 150 www.superiormechanical.us
Families First of Minnesota 145 www.familiesfirstmn.org
Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co. 127 www.rochester.gillettepepsicola.com
Tuohy Furniture 122 www.tuohyfurniture.com
Post Bulletin Company 110 www.postbulletin.com
Land O’ Lakes 100 www.landolakesinc.com
Associated Milk Producers, Inc. 86 www.ampi.com

 

Contact us

Rochester Area Economic Development, Inc. (RAEDI) value proposition is the ability to assist businesses and entrepreneurs in securing the private and/or public resources needed to execute their business plans. RAEDI is pleased to assist you with your request.

Please call 507-288-0208, email info@raedi.com, or fill out the form below.